Paleo Southwest Organic Chicken Tenders with Grilled Mango

Image

Paleo Organic Southwest Chicken Tenders with Grilled Mango

I was craving the warmth of some Southwest Seasonings.  And I was short on time. So, this perfect solution to satisfy both needs was born!

I am naturally drawn to recipes with very few ingredients – they are generally less time consuming to prepare, and it is easier to check that they adhere to the paleo principles.  I used mangos that were pre-cut (that is one fruit I just cannot figure out how to handle) which made this perhaps the easiest meal I’ve ever prepared.  This one is a keeper!

  • Sommers Organic Chicken Tenders (@$8 at Strack and Van Til)
  • 1 teaspoon Southwest Seasoning (< $1 ordered online from Penzeys.com)
  • 1 Tablespoon Organic Coconut Oli (< $1 from Herb Thyme)
  • Mango slices (I used half of a 2-lb “ReadyPAC” container from Costco which I had in the freezer … @$4)

Sprinkle the seasoning on mangos and on chicken tenders.  Using my trusty iron skillet I “grilled” up my mangos (really it is more of a saute) in coconut oil.  After about 10 minutes they begin to soften and start to caramelize.  Remove the mango to your serving dish, leaving the remainder of the oil in your skillet to grill the chicken.  Cook chicken until juices run clear.  Cooking time will depend on the thickness of the chicken and heat of your skillet.  This took me approx. 12 min.   Serve with your favorite salad or cooked greens.

This recipe is a favorite of my Dad’s.  A great meal to make ahead of time on a busy week!

Serves 4 at under $4 per serving.

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

