Tired of Turkey?

I know.  I know.  You are tired of seeing pictures of everyone’s turkey dinner.  BUT … I just realized that I never posted my very own Thanksgiving Dinner:  “Paleo and Organic Style”.    Before I apologize, I just want to say that my family tells me this was my best turkey ever!  So …  maybe I will replay some of the favorite parts for Christmas Dinner!

Thanksgiving Dinner

Thanksgiving Dinner

I started the day before, preparing a “Maple Glazed Apple Roasted Turkey”– using a recipe found at thehealthyfoodie.com.  My adaptation is below:

  •             10-15  pound Organic Fresh Turkey – mine was 14# Coastal Range (from Costco @ $48)
  •             2 tbsp Pure Maple Syrup (also from Coscto @<$1)
  •             1 tsp Himalayan or unrefined Sea Salt
  •             1 tsp freshly cracked Black Pepper
  •             1 tsp fresh Rosemary, finely chopped

Combine the syrup and spices for the wet rub in a small bowl.  Pat the bird dry and place it inside a turkey cooking bag on a large tray that will fit into your refrigerator later!  Carefully loosen the skin from the breast by delicately sliding your fingers under it from the neck end until you reach the end of the breasts. Be careful not to break the skin. Rub half of the spice mixture between the flesh and skin. Rub the other half all over the bird’s skin, including breasts, thighs and wings.  Pull the turkey cooking bag (or plastic film) closed and set it in the fridge to rest until the next day.

  •             3 large Organic Red Apples, cut into quarters (I used Fuji)
  •             2-3 sprigs Fresh Rosemary
  •             ½ cup Pure Maple Syrup
  •             1 teaspoon Anise
  •             2 whole Cinnamon Sticks

About 4 hours before you want to eat, preheat oven to 325F.  Remove turkey from the fridge and place it on a rack in a roasting pan.  Stuff quartered apples as well as a few sprigs of fresh rosemary in the cavity. Tie legs neatly together.  Add maple syrup, anise and cinnamon sticks to the bottom of the bag. Sprinkle bird generously with salt and pepper. Roast in a 325F oven for about 20 minutes per pound or until a thermometer inserted into the thickest part of thighs registers 180F. When turkey is done, take it out of the oven  and let it rest for 20-30 minutes before carving.

I served the turkey with organic cranberry sauce (of course), steamed broccoli and cauliflower (seasoned with grass fed butter – yum!) and with 2 different combinations of veggies roasted with olive oil and salt and pepper:

  • Brussels Sprouts with Organic Yellow Beets
  • Organic Carrots, Parsnips and Sweet Potatoes

Oh – I forgot to tell you … I found a recipe for cranberry sauce that won the taste-off competition at my house over the weekend.  I used organic ingredients where I could.  Check it out at Primally Inspired … “Naturally Sweetened Cranberry Sauce

It really was a delicious meal – and bread?  what bread?  I did not miss the bread at all!

The turkey serves 20 people at approx $3 per serving.

Leave a Reply

