Holiday Baking – Paleo Style

The holidays are sure busy times for everyone.   But for me, it just wouldn’t be the holidays without few sweet treats to share with friends and family.  Since I started my paleo journey, I have stayed pretty far away from sweet times and “bread-or cake-like” recipes – even if they were officially paleo compliant.  I guess I have been afraid that it would spur up a craving that has subsided for cookies and breads.  To be honest, today was the first time I ventured into this category of recipes.  But … I just could not resist making a few sweets this week.

So … what did I do?  I broke out my brand new “Against all Grain” cookbook.  First, I mixed up the cookie dough for Christmas Cookies.  While the dough was chillin’ in the refrigerator, I found a recipe for Pumpkin Muffins and Banana Bread.  Both looked irresistible – and I had all the ingredients on hand.  While they had a few more ingredients than my usual choices in recipes, neither was difficult.  And VOILA – they look pretty darn good!

I’m so thrilled to find these healthy alternatives.  Cookies will be ready to ice and decorate when the kids and friends start arriving!

Image

Holiday Baking

Oh, by the way … I wasn’t planning to make pancakes for dinner – BUT I had a half can of organic pumpkin left over and just could not see it go to waste.  I must tell you that even my pancake-loving-non-paleo husband gave this new recipe for Pumpkin Pancakes TWO THUMBS UP!

We will be making this one again.  Maybe this weekend 😉

Image

Pumpkin Pancakes

If you don’t have the Against All Grain cookbook on your shelf hurry up and place your order.  If it wasn’t so late, I would let Santa know you’d like to find under the tree 🙂

Happy Holiday Baking!

Leave a Reply

