Pesticides – are they worth the risk?

The top three reasons I am against pesticides.

  1. I do not believe they have been proven to be safe.
  2. There ARE other “Organic” options  – and the ORGANIC items TASTE BETTER, too!
  3. Why risk it?
Organic Sweet Potatoes, "Pan Fried" in an iron skillet  with nitrite free bacon grease

Organic Sweet Potatoes, “Pan Fried” in an iron skillet with nitrite free bacon grease

Something about my previous food choices was not allowing the nutrients in the foods I ate to feed and nourish my body.  I am certainly no chemist, but I AM an expert in knowing my self.  I know I ate less than many other “normally weighted” friends and family.  I know I could not lose weight even by eating less and exercising more.

It’s interesting – and worth some investigation – to know that when I gave up all the chemical-laden foods in my previous diet, I began to lose my excess weight, and I began to FEEL nourished.

I recently began following the Organic Consumers Association (OCA) to learn more about this.  They recently posted an article regarding pesticides commonly found on US Produce, that the European Food regulators have questioned.  You may also want to look at The Environmental Working Group (EWG)’s  annual Shopper’s Guide to Pesticides.

According to their research, some of the food items where the pesticide was detected most often are:

  • Broccoli (60 percent)
  • Cauliflower (59 percent)
  • Grapes (51 percent)
  • Spinach (48 percent)
  • Lettuce (34 percent)
  • Potatoes (33 percent)
  • Sweet bell peppers (32 percent)
  • Cherry tomatoes (21 percent)
  • Apples (20 percent)

The decision by Europe’s top food safety agency to call for new restrictions on two pesticides common on conventionally-grown U.S. produce because they “may affect the developing human nervous system” in young children underscores the danger of reliance on pesticides.  I encourage you to read more, and – of course – to buy organic items whenever you can.

Or – you can ignore this – but …. REALLY, Is it worth the risk?

Leave a Reply

