What’s for Breakfast?

One of the biggest changes I made in my diet was what I eat for breakfast.  I was one of those “healthy kids” who ate oatmeal and fresh berries almost every day.  Now it’s eggs and veggies for me – EVERY DAY!  Oh, and black coffee, too 🙂  But, No grains and no milk or cheese. That’s right.  No cereal, no toast with butter, no muffins.

Why give all that up?  For me it was finding great tasting and nourishing food that led to lower cholesterol and better health – REALLY!!!   My triglycerides went from 311 to 147 in a very short time (no kidding).  And I no longer get hungry an hour or two after I eat.  And my blood sugar and energy is stable.  Guess what?  I feel SOOOO much better!

This past year I made eggs nearly every morning – and never got bored, because I changed up the “sides” all the time.  I always use organic free-range eggs.  And I cook them in a paleo-approved healthy oil (organic coconut oil is my favorite, but I also use ghee or bacon grease from my nitrite free bacon – sugar free when I can find it).

Many days I use veggies from last night’s dinner and scramble them up.  Other days, I throw a handful of fresh spinach into the skillet and serve my eggs on top.  Here are a week’s worth of ideas to get you started on your next breakfast creation:

Image

A week’s worth of breakfasts

Every day there is an opportunity to change the current of your life; to improve your life spiritually, mentally and physically – and each new day provides an opportunity to feed yourself with healthy nutritious foods.  Let’s make 2014 a year filled with improvement every day.

All the best to you in 2014!

Leave a Reply

