Cold Feet? The trouble could be FODMAPs ….

I had never heard the word FODMAP before last week.  I did not know what it meant.  But … I now suspect that FODMAPs are a big problem for me.

I have complained of having very cold hands (and feet and even my nose) for many years.  My suspicion was that a food related allergy or sensitivity was to blame, but I have never been able to pinpoint a troublesome group of foods.  My symptoms were seemingly very random.  Really … and apple?  then an organic mango?  then watermelon?  What do they have in common?  High FODMAPs!!!

From the website Whole30 – discussion of doing an “autoimmune Whole 30”:

We briefly mentioned FODMAPs in Chapter 10 of It Starts With Food. FODMAP stands for “fermentable oligosaccharides, disaccharides, monosaccharides, and polyols”—a collection of fermentable carbohydrates and sugar alcohols found in various foods, like grains, beans, vegetables, and fruits. FODMAPs are poorly absorbed, thereby “feeding” gut bacteria and causing a host of IBS (irritable bowel syndrome)-related symptoms, including abdominal bloating and distension, excess gas, abdominal pain, nausea, changes in bowel habits (diarrhea, constipation, or a combination of both), and other gastro-intestinal symptoms.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you to the fine people at WHOLE9 / WHOLE30 … I have modified my 30 day challenge to eliminate this troublesome group of foods – and VOILA!  No more cold hands.  or feet.  or anything else.  I cannot believe how easy this was, after struggling so long to find comfort.

Click here for a SHOPPING LIST of whole 30 compliant LOW FODMAP foods.

Leave a Reply

